Back

Published Date : 28th March 2019
VIVA Holds its Annual General Meeting for the Year Ending on 31 December 2018

  • Net profit of KD 50.4 million, a growth of 18% in 2018
  • Total revenues for 2018 reached KD 288 million

Kuwait - 27th March 2019: VIVA held it’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Four Seasons Hotel on 27 March 2019, and the attendance represented 66.208% from the total shareholders.

The AGM approved the board of directors’ report, the auditors’ report and the sharia committee’s report for the fiscal year ended 31 December 2018. Also, the AGM approved the corporate governance report, the Audit Committee report and the report of remuneration and benefits for the board of directors and executive management for the year ended on 31 December 2018. In addition, the AGM approved financial statements and board of directors’ recommendation to distribute cash dividends of 40 fils among the shareholders representing 40 percent of the capital for the fiscal year ended 31 December 2018 for the shareholders registered in the company's records on the Record Date on Sunday 14 April 2019 and the cash dividends will be distributed for the eligible shareholders on the Payment Date on Sunday 21 April 2019.

The Chairman of VIVA, Dr. Mahmoud Ahmed Abdulrahman, commented that “Despite the high competition witnessed in Kuwait Telecommunication Market, VIVA was able to achieve good levels of revenues and growth in profitability to sustain the operational efficiency and to ensure generating positive return to our shareholders. Despite the fierce competition in the market VIVA has achieved growth in both revenue and profitability, and has further enhanced operational efficiency to create value and deliver reliable returns to its shareholder. The way VIVA has worked to consolidate its position as a leader in the telecom Industry and the developing services and creative offers to meet our customer needs.

He added: “VIVA, grew its net profit by 18% to reach KD 50.4 million (earnings per share of 101 fils) compared to KD 42.8 million (earnings per share of 86 fils) in the previous year.”

On his part, Mr. Mohammed Bin AbdulMohsen Al-Assaf, VIVA’s Acting CEO and CFO, said: “VIVA achieved its financial goals in 2018 despite the high competition, where increased competition among mobile service providers led to lower prices, while the increased use of voice over IP (VoIP) affected the erosion margins, especially on traditional voice packages. The Data dominance and the need to invest, are becoming more important than ever. In 2019, we are looking to meet these challenges by improving our cost and achieving our competitive strategy. Our vision of growth was not limited to the first decade of the VIVA, but exceeded to investing in our future business through our strategy to develop infrastructure and investment in the modern and digital technology sector. We became the first telecom company to experience live on the fifth generation network 5G pre-launch in the near future.”

He added: “Despite the difficult market conditions squeezing financial margins, we were able to both protect and improve our profits in 2018 VIVA reported excellent financial results generating revenues of KD 288 million, an increase of 0.1% Compared to 2017, whereas EBITDA grew by 9.5% compared to last year to reach KD 77.8 million. Our focus on driving business efficiency was clearly reflected by our strong EBITDA margin reached 27% with historical net income reached KD 50.4 million. Our investment for expanding and upgrading our network led to CAPEX spend of KD 31.1 million over the year, reflecting to 11% of revenue, this will be critical in order for us to maintain our competitive advantage in future. Our commitment to delivering value to our shareholders, is reflected in the increase of equity by 22% to KD 192 million.

Our ability to navigate an increasingly challenging operating environment is evidence of the capability of the business to leverage new opportunities. We aim to deliver on our strategy to create an agile and leading organization, benefitting from new growth opportunities, monetizing our assets and continuing to increase efficiency.

He added: “In the coming year, we will seek to enhance our core business to augment the value we offer and to grow our profitable market share. We will also place a clear focus on value-creating digital opportunities for our business, to protect VIVA from any potential decline in the market. Our goal will be on creating telecom investments opportunities and working with IoT businesses to capitalize on the wider potential the local market can offer. We aim to further strength our operations through digitization, providing best-in-class services to our customers.

VIVA Helpline
For assistance call 102

Viva Logo
Back

تاريخ النشر: 28 مارس 2019
VIVA تعقد اجتماع الجمعية العامة العادية للسنة المالية المنتهية في 31 ديسمبر 2018

  • حققت 50.4 مليون دينار كويتي صافي أرباح في عام 2018 بنسبة نمو 18%
  • وصلت إيراداتها إلى 288 مليون دينار كويتي

الكويت - 27 مارس 2019: عقدت شركة الاتصالات الكويتية VIVA، مشغل الاتصالات الأسرع نمواً في الكويت، اجتماع الجمعية العامة العادية ، في فندق فورسيزونز بتاريخ 27 مارس 2019 وقد بلغت نسبة النصاب %66.208 من إجمالي عدد المساهمين.

وتم خلال إجتماع الجمعية العامة العادية المصادقة على تقرير مجلس الإدارة وتقرير مراقبي الحسابات وتقرير هيئة الرقابة الشرعية، كما تمت المصادقة على تقرير حوكمة الشركات وتقرير لجنة التدقيق وتقرير المكافآت والرواتب والمزايا لأعضاء مجلس الإدارة والجهاز التنفيذي وذلك عن السنة المالية المنتهية في 31 ديسمبر 2018، كما تمت الموافقة على جميع بنود جدول أعمال الجمعية العامة العادية الأخرى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وافقت الجمعية العامة العادية على اقتراح مجلس الإدارة بتوزيع أرباح نقدية بنسبة %40 من إجمالي رأسمال الشركة عن السنة المالية المنتهية في 31 ديسمبر 2018، أي بواقع 40 فلساً كويتياً للسهم الواحد وذلك للمساهمين المقيدين في سجلات الشركة في نهاية يوم الاستحقاق المحدد له الأحد الموافق 14 أبريل 2019، وسوف يتم توزيع الأرباح النقدية على المساهمين المستحقين لها اعتباراً من يوم الأحد الموافق 21 أبريل 2019.

وصرّح الدكتور محمود أحمد عبد الرحمن، رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة الإتصالات الكويتية VIVA قائلاً: "رغم استمرار المنافسة التي يشهدها قطاع الاتصالات الكويتي والذي يعتبر من أكثر الأسواق التنافسية في المنطقة، استطاعت VIVA أن تحقق مستويات جيدة من الإيرادات ونمو في الربحية بالإضافة إلى تعزيز الكفاءة التشغيلية لخلق قيمة وعوائد أفضل لمساهميها. وقد حققت VIVA هذه النتائج بفضل اتباع نهج إداري متكامل ومتطور على يد فريق ذي مهنية عالية يعزز الدوري المحوري والإيجابي الذي تلعبه VIVA كشركة اتصالات رائدة تساهم دائماً في توفير حلول اتصالات ذكية لإرضاء طموحات عملائها وتلبية احتياجاتهم."

وأضاف: "لقد أظهرت VIVA قدرتها على تحقيق نمو في صافي الأرباح خلال عام 2018، حيث تمكنت من تحقيق نمو بنسبة 18% في صافي الأرباح التي بلغت 50.4 مليون دينار كويتي (ربحية السهم 101 فلساً) مقارنة بصافي أرباح وصلت إلى 42.8 مليون دينار كويتي (ربحية السهم 86 فلساً) في عام 2017 .

من جانبه، قال السيد/ محمد بن عبدالمحسن العساف، الرئيس التنفيذي بالوكالة والرئيس التنفيذي للقطاع المالي لـشركة الإتصالات الكويتية VIVA: نجحت VIVA في بيئة تنافسية صعبة من تحقيق أهدافها المالية خلال عام 2018 حيث أدت زيادة المنافسة بين مقدمي خدمات الهاتف النقال إلى إنخفاض الأسعار، في حين أثّر الإستخدام المتزايد لتقنية المكالمات الصوتية عبر الإنترنت (VoIP) على هوامش الربح الآخذة في التآكل وخصوصاً على الباقات الصوتية التقليدية. لقد أصبحت هيمنة البيانات والحاجة إلى استثمارها أكثر أهمية من أي وقتٍ مضى، حيث نتطلع في عام 2019 إلى مواجهة هذه التحديات من خلال تحسين التكلفة وتحقيق إستراتيجيتنا التنافسية.

إن نظرتنا إلى النمو لم تتوقف عند العقد الأول من عمر VIVA فحسب بل تجاوزت ذلك إلى الإستثمار في أعمالنا المستقبلية من خلال استراتيجية الشركة في تطوير البنية التحتية والاستثمار في قطاع التكنوليجيا الحديثة والرقمية، وأصبحنا أول شركة إتصالات تجري تجربة حية على شبكة الجيل الخامس 5G قبل طرحها في المستقبل القريب.

وأضاف: "على الرغم من الظروف الصعبة التي شهدها السوق والتي أدت إلى تراجع كبير في هوامش الأرباح، فقد تمكنا من حماية أرباحنا خلال عام 2018 بل وتحسينها حيث أعلنت VIVA عن نتائج مالية ممتازة، بإيرادات وصلت إلى 288 مليون دينار كويتي ، بزيادة قدرها 0.1٪ عن العام السابق، في حين حقق الدخل قبل إحتساب الفوائد والضرائب والإستهلاك والإطفاء للعام نموًا بنسبة 9.5٪ عن العام السابق وبلغ 77.8 مليون دينار كويتي. إن تركيزنا على المضي قدمًا بكفاءة الأعمال قد إنعكس بوضوح في الهامش القوي للدخل قبل إحتساب الفوائد والضرائب والاستهلاك والإطفاء الذي وصل إلى 27٪، حيث شهد صافي الربح مستوى تاريخي بلغ 50.4 مليون دينار كويتي. لقد أدى إستثمارنا في توسيع وتحسين شبكتنا إلى وجود نفقات رأسمالية بلغت 31.1 مليون دينار كويتي على مدار العام، بما يعادل نسبة 11% من الإيرادات، وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية حتى نحافظ على ميزتنا التنافسية في المستقبل. إن إلتزامنا بتحقيق قيمة لمساهمينا قد انعكس في الزيادة التي طرأت على حقوق مساهمي الشركة بنسبة 22٪ لتصل إلى 192 مليون دينار كويتي.

إن قدرتنا على النمو في بيئة تشغيلية مليئة بالتحديات هي دليل على قدرة VIVA على إقتناص الفرص الجديدة. نحن نهدف إلى تحقيق إستراتيجيتنا لتكوين شركة رائدة وذكية، والإستفادة من فرص النمو الجديدة، وتحقيق الأرباح من أصولنا والاستمرار في زيادة الكفاءة.

وفي نظرة مستقبلية أضاف: "سنسعى في عام 2019 إلى تعزيز أعمالنا الأساسية لحماية القيمة التي نقدمها وتنمية حصتنا السوقية من الأرباح. كما سنصب تركيزنا بشكل واضح على الفرص الرقمية لإيجاد القيمة وذلك لحماية VIVA من أي تراجع محتمل في السوق، فضلاً عن إيجاد فرص استثمارية في مجال الاتصالات والعمل مع شركات إنترنت الأشياء للاستفادة من الإمكانات الكبيرة التي يمكن للسوق المحلي أن يقدمها. كما نهدف إلى زيادة قوة عملياتنا من خلال التحول الرقمي وتوفير أفضل الخدمات لعملائنا."

VIVA Helpline
للحصول على المساعدة، اتصل على 102